a thousand beginnings and endings


Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings. These are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries.

Fifteen bestselling and acclaimed authors reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate.

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place. From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. For fans of Neil Gaiman’s Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie’s New York Times–bestselling Because You Love to Hate Me.

PURCHASE NOW

                          

ADD IT ON GOODREADS


FOREIGN EDITIONS

  

PRAISE FOR A THOUSAND BEGINNINGS AND ENDINGS

“This collection fills a gap in modern retellings of fairy tales and myths by presenting non-European myths. …Give to fans of Marissa Meyer’s “Lunar Chronicles” or Rick Riordan’s Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard. An excellent first purchase for all libraries.” — School Library Journal, Starred Review

“A collection of Asian myths and legends in which beloved stories of spirits, magic, family, love, and heartbreak are combined with elements from modern teens’ lives… With such a variety of emotion and experiences to explore, nearly any teen can find something to relate to… An incredible anthology that will keep readers on the edges of their seats, wanting more.” Kirkus, Starred Review

“Fifteen Asian authors…share genre-spanning short retellings of myths and legends traditional to their own cultures in this outstanding anthology. …Thoughtfully compiled and written, this compendium is a must-read.” Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

“Authors Oh and Chapman have created this much-needed anthology of Asian myths and folktales. …It’s a wonderful concept, and the styles and subjects are as diverse as the countries and cultures represented. …these stories are for everyone.” — Booklist