SCAVENGER HUNT HAS ENDED. THANKS FOR PARTICIPATING!

HELLO! I’m Lori, your hostess for this stop on the YA Scavenger Hunt! Take a look around or lie back and rest your weary scavenger-hunting limbs.

A little about me:

• I love fairy tales and folklore.
• I believe in magic.
• I can futterwacken vigorously. (But only in my head.)
• I own 12 pairs of unicorn socks. (Just kidding. Maybe.)

If you’d like to find out more about the hunt, see links to all the authors participating, and see the full list of prizes up for grabs, go to the YA Scavenger Hunt page.

You’re currently hunting on TEAM GREEN!
GreenTeam

Looking for my exclusive bonus content? Somewhere on this leg of the hunt, I’ve hidden a sneak peek at Kai’s future in the Gates of Thread and Stone series. When you find it, pop back here to enter the EXTRA giveaway listed below. But before you go looking for it, check out the amazing author I’m hosting.

SCAVENGER HUNT PUZZLE RULESDirections: Somewhere in this post, you’ll notice that I’ve highlighted my favorite number. Collect the favorite numbers of all the authors on Team Green, and then add them up (don’t worry, you can use a calculator!).

Entry Form: Once you’ve added up all the numbers, make sure you fill out the form here to officially qualify for the grand prize. Only entries that have the correct number will qualify.

Rules: Open internationally, anyone below the age of 18 should have a parent or guardian’s permission to enter. To be eligible for the grand prize, you must submit the completed entry form by October 4, at noon Pacific Time. Entries sent without the correct number or without contact information will not be considered.

* * * * *I’m super excited to be hosting

EMMA PASS

Emma Pass has been making up stories for as long as she can remember. ACID was her first novel, and THE FEARLESS is her second. By day, she works as a library assistant and lives with her husband and dog in the Northeast Midlands of England.

» www.emmapass.com

* * * * *“For fans of The Hunger Games, Matched, Divergent, and The Fifth Wave, this fast-paced futuristic thriller tells the story of seventeen-year-old Cass and her fight to protect her younger brother from an unimaginably terrifying enemy.”

» Purchase THE FEARLESS

* * * * *

Exclusive Content

This is a scene from the very first draft of THE FEARLESS, which I wrote way back in 2011. I don’t want to give anything away for anyone who’s not read the book yet, but in the final version of the book, Cass is caring for her little brother by herself. In this early version, she’s looking after her mom, too, who is traumatised by the events of the Invasion – the night the Fearless came to the UK.

When I wake up everything’s black – so black I can’t tell if my eyes are open or shut. I scrabble in the crack in the wall behind me for the candle and matches I’m not supposed to have because they’re Restricted Items, and it isn’t until the candle’s lit, chasing the shadows back into the corners, that my heart stops thudding. I look round the room, wondering what woke me and where the lantern I always keep next to the bed at night has gone. All I can hear is Jori’s breathing and the ever-present thunder of the sea. Then my gaze lands on the empty mat and the heaped-up blanket across the room.

I peel my own blanket back and get quietly to my feet. Next to me, Jori mutters and twitches, but he doesn’t wake up. I find a dish to put the candle in and creep to the space where there used to be a door. I push the heavy blanket that hangs across it aside with my free hand and peer out. “Mom,” I hiss.

There’s no sign of her, only the balcony rails looming in the moonlight, leaning at crazy angles like a row of broken teeth. I take a deep breath, then step through the doorway, hearing the boards creak and groan under my feet and praying that tonight won’t be the night they finally give way. The warm air smells of salt. Keeping one hand on the outside wall of our apartment, I take a few steps along the balcony. “Mom!” I whisper again.

Then, in the courtyard below, I see a light. How long has she been down there? I duck back inside the apartment, push my feet into my boots, check Jori’s still asleep, then head for the stairs. Eleven flights, and even though I come up and down them every day, my heart still jumps into my throat every time my foot hovers over a missing tread or my fingers brush against a loose section of the banister. Once, there must have been a maintenance team who took care of these buildings, who fixed the leaks and the cracks and made sure you could walk down the stairs without being scared every step might be your last one, but they were gone before I’d even heard of New Hope Island.

Finally, I reach the ground floor and the relative safety of the courtyard. Mom’s still there on the other side, the glow from the lantern a beacon guiding me towards her. When I reach her, she’s looking up into the sky, holding up the lantern and craning her neck as if she’s searching for something – or someone.

“Mom.” I touch her shoulder and she turns, blinking.

“Oh… Cass… it’s you,” she says.

“Mom, you need to come back inside,” I say softly. “It’s after curfew.”

“Curfew…” Her voice is as distant as her expression.

Yes, Mom, the curfew. Come on. Please.” I tug her arm, but she still doesn’t move.

“I heard him,” she says, the ghost of a smile flickering across her lips, and my stomach sinks.

“You can’t have, Mom, he’s not here,” I say.

And even now, seven years later, my throat suddenly aches with knowing it.

“No, Cass, I heard him, I’m sure I did!” She turns, holding up the lantern again, and the only thing I can do is what I always do; put one arm around her waist and with the other, reach for the lantern and gently prise it out of her fingers. “Come on, Mom, we’re going back to bed,” I say. She weighs less than I do, so she has no choice but to start walking. As we cross the courtyard, I hear her sniffle quietly, trying to hold back her tears. “But he was calling me, Cass,” she says in a cracked voice. “He sounded so close…”

* * * * *

BONUS GIVEAWAY

 

To win a SIGNED copy of either Gates of Thread and Stone or The Infinite, find my hidden content somewhere on this hunt. Then come back and comment with your email (so I can contact you if you win) and the answer to the following question: (all comments will be screened so don’t freak out if your comment doesn’t appear)

What was the creature that tried to stop Kai and Kronos?

Note: physical copy for US only. INT winner will receive a Kindle copy.

For one (1) extra point, follow me on any social media platform. Please make sure to note where you followed me (and your corresponding username) in your comment so that I can count it!

You can find me on twitter, facebook, tumblr, and instagram.

* * * * *Ready to move on to the next stop on the hunt? Then head on over to visit KATHLEEN BALDWIN!

Good luck!

46 Comments on “It’s time for the 2015 Fall YA Scavenger Hunt!

  1. A “Border guard”! I follow you on Twitter (cassiea1000), tumblr (kalicu), and Facebook (kalani.grace.50)!

  2. Oops I forgot to address all parts of the question so here we go again…
    The answer is a border guard, and I followed via twitter with username @LadyCordeliaDav
    Thanks for the giveaway!

  3. Hi, just wanted to let you know that your books sound really interesting and I will be getting my hands on a copy very soon!

    In the excerpt a border guard tried to stop Kai and Kronos.

  4. A border guard. I follow you on Twitter as @hufflepuffgrl13

    hufflepuffgrl13 at yahoo dot com

  5. It was a Border guard. Thank you for participating 🙂
    I also follow you on Twitter: @emandm2222

  6. It was a Border Guard that tried to stop Kai and Kronos. And I am now following you on Tumblr. My username is andromedameetperseus. Thanks for the extra giveway! 🙂

  7. Followed on twitter @seanchou.

    In my mind, it was some kind of large metallic penguin with wings. But the name for it seems to be Border Guard?

  8. Thank you for this giveaway and for the opportunity to win one of your books! 😀
    What was hunting them was the “Border guard”.

    I follow on:
    Twitter; @JakobssonR
    Facebook; Rebecka Jakobsson
    Tumblr; casual-reminder
    Instagram; beckan2

    Thank you again! Have a nice weekend! <3

  9. A Border Guard tried to stop them. Damn, that was a good scene. I’m so intrigued. Also I followed you on twitter and tumblr. My username on both is alorabora. My email is alora @ wogsland . org, minus the spaces, of course.

  10. The answer to the bonus giveaway is border guard. My email is qahwahdrinker@gmail.com. Thanks for making this fun! BTW, I posted on your wall on Facebook under the name Sharon Berge.

  11. Thanks for being apart of the Fall YA Scavenger Hunt, I love reading the excerpts and such. And the creature that tried to stop Kai and Kronos was a border guard. I also follow on facebook: sarah skylark. ksarah26(at)aol(dot)com

  12. A boarder guard! That’s the creature that ran into Kai and Kronos. I cannot wait to read “The Gates of Thread and Stone”. It looks so good!

  13. The answer is border guard! Thank you for the bonus giveaway!
    I followed you on Twitter (@iamshelfless), Facebook (Denise Cayetano), Instagram (ayyydenise) and on Tumblr (iamshelfless).

  14. The creature was a border guard and I followed you on twitter @mblovesbooks! The book looks amazing

  15. It was a border guard. I also followed through Twitter (@YourEarthAndSky) Thanks for the chance!

  16. Lori . . .Thank You for participating in the Fall 2015 YASH. LOVE your books & thanks for offering fans the opportunity to win some FAB goodies!

    The creature that tried to stop Kai and Kronos . . . was a Border Guard! Nasty sounding bit of organic automaton. :shiver:

    I follow you on Twitter as @cynthiakreisel

  17. So excited for the third book in the series!

    To answer the question, a Border Guard tried to stop them.

    I follow on Twitter (@mvalente89).
    Email is mkornacki89@gmail.com

  18. The metal, rancid creature that had a sort of life in him is a border guard.
    I follow on Twitter: @Vickie_W_
    Facebook: Vicky Icky
    Tumblr: Venusassassin
    Instagram: Venus_warrior

    Thanks for the bonus giveaway!! 🙂

  19. This may be a second post, I am not sure the first went through.

    Border guard, I follow you on Twitter @Sfroxy and my email is sweetsuzycsc @ yahoo.com

  20. Border Guard. 🙂

    I followed you on twitter – username: toewsandpeeks

  21. Border guard. Email is smilesXalumniYcmuYedu (I hate spammers, and this hasn’t been cracked yet by spambots. X is the @ and both Ys are .) I also follow on instagram (tabularasasm)

  22. A Border guard was the creature in that chilling scene.
    I’m following your Twitter, where you’re Gory M. Lee — I’m @JLenniDorner
    And on Facebook — JLenniDorner https://www.facebook.com/j.lennidorner
    And on Tumblr… as…you’ll never guess… JLenniDorner once again!
    😉
    Love your book cover by the way.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: